Development Log

  • Ada
    Nov 22nd, 2006

    AdaCore’s Ben Brosgol receives SIGAda’s Outstanding Ada Community Contribution Award

    Ben Brosgol, a senior member of AdaCore's technical staff, received an Outstanding Ada Community Contribution Award at the ACM SIGAda 2006 Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico (US), on 15 November. This annual award is bestowed on individuals "for broad, lasting contributions to Ada technology and usage", and past recipients from AdaCore are Robert Dewar (1995), Ed Schonberg (1997), Bob Duff (2002), and Matthew Heaney (2005).

    In honoring Ben, SIGAda noted his numerous and significant contributions to the Ada effort, starting from the earliest days and continuing to the present. He worked on the "Red" language (the runner-up in the original Ada language design competition) and served as a Distinguished Reviewer for Ada 83 and as a member of the language revision team for Ada 95. He has been conducting Ada courses for over 20 years, has presented papers and tutorials at many Ada-Europe and SIGAda conferences, and is currently the President of the Ada Resource Association.

    In 1998 Ben received SIGAda's other annual award, for distinguished service to SIGAda itself; he is one of only three individuals to have received both awards.